AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Adventure Alternative

Adventure Alternative Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Adventure Alternative

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 35
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 36
Reviews Accepted: 36
Reviews Rejected: 0
36 reviews
Sort by:
Climb Mount Kenya by Luis, 8 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Kenya

We did a 5 days safari through the main natural reserves in kenya. It was a intense trip, very busy, but we did enjoy a lot. We had a lot of adventures during the trip and we were lead by a real kenian man!

We did a 5 days safari through the main natural reserves in kenya. It was a intense trip, very busy, but we did enjoy a lot. We had a lot of adventures during the trip and we were lead by a real kenian man!

Rating for tour operator:

The comunication has been something always easy. The schedule very flexible to us and we always feel secure with our guide. We had some problems as engine failure or some problem in the organization but our guide managed to resolve them in the way. Probably these are part of safari's adventure. Finally i must to highlight a misunderstanding in the final budget of the safari due to some problem converting money. This wasn't brought to our attention until the last day of the trip when we had to pay more money to our guide. He explains the misunderstanding and he did apologise for this.

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 08 Jan 2018:

Thank you for this feedback. On the issue of the currency conversion we had a situation where the figure we gave in sterling was based on a standard exchange rate, but when the money was sent to Barclays in Kenya they adopted a very different exchange rate which completely surprised us. Unfortunately there was nothing we could do about this, and we are very sorry that this happened.

Adventure Alternative by C-Ryan, 5 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

2017 - An Unforgettable Christmas!

Our holiday took place over Christmas - we did many different activities, including safari, camping, visiting rescue centers, sanctuaries, boat ride to see hippos, tea and cake at Joy Adamson's house, gorge walking, cycling through safari parks and visiting friends of the organisation. It was a new and unique way to spend the end of the year and not like anything we have ever experienced before.

Our holiday took place over Christmas - we did many different activities, including safari, camping, visiting rescue centers, sanctuaries, boat ride to see hippos, tea and cake at Joy Adamson's house, gorge walking, cycling through safari parks and visiting friends of the organisation. It was a new and unique way to spend the end of the year and not like anything we have ever experienced before.

Rating for tour operator:

My family and I, 6 in total, traveled with Adventure Alternative, around Kenya this Christmas (2017). I can honestly say we had one of the best and most unconventional festive holidays we have ever had. Kenya is a beautiful country with lots to do and see but I can safely say we would not have had anywhere near as much fun if we were not with the Adventure Alternative team - they were knowledgeable, flexible to our needs, friendly and really integrated themselves into our group - we felt more like a family of 9 than of 6 by the end of our trip and we met some wonderful people along the way. I cannot recommend them more highly. Asante Sana!!

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 05 Jan 2018:

Thank you for your feedback, very much appreciated. We certainly try hard to create wonderful family holidays and this one over Christmas sounds like it was a lot of fun!

Climb Mount Kilimanjaro by Miss L O 17, 21 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Climbing Kilimanjaro

A large group of around 30 of us got together to take on the challenge of climbing Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania to raise funds for a charity, Seeing is Believing.

A large group of around 30 of us got together to take on the challenge of climbing Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania to raise funds for a charity, Seeing is Believing.

Rating for tour operator:

This trip was unfamiliar territory to many of us as it was the first time for many of us to climb a mountain and to do something as challenging as climbing Mount Kilimanjaro. Adventure Alternative however made this trip a lot more easier from a lot of perspectives, and I would highly recommend them for that trip. 1- Organization: Adventure Alternative were extremely organized, especially with the obvious logistical challenge of taking a group of 30 people on a mountain for 7 days. From food, to tents, to sleeping mats, to carrying our things and ensuring they were there before we got to the camp, the team didn't fail once. Before we started the challenge, there were regular email updates telling us what we should be taking with us, what to expect, and how to train. I found this very comforting especially because I did not know what to expect. 2- Safety: The porters and the guides were very experienced and they watched every single one of us closely. Whenever one of us was falling behind or was feeling the effects of altitude sickness, they immediately noticed and were there to help with guidance and to take things at a much slower pace and be there with us throughout. They were patient and I personally felt extremely safe to be with them. There is no doubt that they are very well trained with a lot of experience doing this. 3- Friendliness: whether they were porters, cooks, guides, or anyone else, there wasn't a single one of the Adventure Alternative team whom our group disliked. As a matter of fact, they were all extremely friendly, and actually took interest in our experience, asking us about our days, how we were feeling, and always there to ask us if we needed anything. Besides the obvious tasks they did of carrying our things and providing the tents, water and food, and being our guides, etc. they went over and above that to ensure not only our safety, but also our comfort. They brought us warm tea every morning when we were too cold to get up, they ensured we had enough food and were eating well, they provided us with hot water in our bottles to put in our sleeping bags at night, and they emanated positive energy throughout, especially when we were at our lowest low near the top on summit night. 4- Community: I really like the fact that Adventure Alternative is not just providing a job to the porters and the guides. There is particular interest from the company to ensure that these guys and girls are on a career path. This is not just a one-time job for them. They come together as a family. I have walked past Gavin, the lead guide and Director of Adventure Alternative, plenty of times on the trip only to hear him coaching and mentoring the other guides, and stopping and checking on the porters. This I believe created a special bond because they were working together as a team - they were not just there to do a job. They were actually learning and growing. I was extremely happy to see women as part of the Adventure Alternative team. I highly recommend Adventure Alternative for this challenge. As a matter of fact, I am planning on doing Everest Base Camp next year, and will not hesitate for a second to go with them. Thank you Adventure Alternative for making our trip the great experience it turned out to be and for getting me addicted to the mountains!

Climb Mount Elbrus by Tom Hicks, 28 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Mount Elbrus North Route

This was one of the most incredible experiences helped by the great organisation of Adventure Alternative. Every aspect of the expedition was meticulously planned and executed, everything from our head guide Sasha meeting me at the airport at the time planned to the summit day. The mountain certainly tried to put a downer on the whole experience throwing up some adverse weather but the manner in which our guide death with the situation was ...

This was one of the most incredible experiences helped by the great organisation of Adventure Alternative. Every aspect of the expedition was meticulously planned and executed, everything from our head guide Sasha meeting me at the airport at the time planned to the summit day. The mountain certainly tried to put a downer on the whole experience throwing up some adverse weather but the manner in which our guide death with the situation was fantastic despite the delayed summit day. I will undoubtedly be travelling with Adventure Alternative again!

Rating for tour operator:

This was one of the most incredible experiences helped by the great organisation of Adventure Alternative. Every aspect of the expedition was meticulously planned and executed, everything from our head guide Sasha meeting me at the airport at the time planned to the summit day. The mountain certainly tried to put a downer on the whole experience throwing up some adverse weather but the manner in which our guide death with the situation was fantastic despite the delayed summit day. I will undoubtedly be travelling with Adventure Alternative again!

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

Thanks Tom! I know it was a well planned challenge for you, look forward to seeing you going higher next time!

Climb Mount Elbrus by Dylan, 21 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Elbrus South Route..

The personable help and assistance l in the preparation and organization before the trip was so helpful even small things such as the Russian Visa, help with Clothing etc. As you can imagine I was slightly nervous and apprehensive about the trip and it really helped and assisted. On the trip itself, I thought it was very well organized and all went to plan without any hitches. The hotel, accommodation on the mountain, transport, food, logistics, ...

The personable help and assistance l in the preparation and organization before the trip was so helpful even small things such as the Russian Visa, help with Clothing etc. As you can imagine I was slightly nervous and apprehensive about the trip and it really helped and assisted. On the trip itself, I thought it was very well organized and all went to plan without any hitches. The hotel, accommodation on the mountain, transport, food, logistics, hiring of equipment, safety of all us all, was faultless. It must be a lot of hard work and communication between England and the team in Russia. Their are no words to describe how good the guide (Sasha) was. He worked so hard both behind the scenes and in front of us with the organization and getting us all in the best preparation and position to reach the summit, which no doubt was difficult with different personalities and various habitats and needs from us all – It wasn’t easy and im so impressed how it was achieved.

Rating for tour operator:

As above. Outstanding.

Climb Mount Elbrus by Kevin Mackenzie, 20 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trek to summit of Elbrus with Adventure Alternative

Just a quick note to pass on my huge gratitude to Sasha (1), Sasha (2) and Natalia for making our Groups’ 11 day trek extremely enjoyable. Having met Sasha (1) and (2) in 2014 when we attempted the Northern route and were turned back by bad weather on three occasions, it was extremely exciting to finally put the mountain test to rest, when we summited on Saturday morning by the Southern route! The mountain certainly provides a challenging environ...

Just a quick note to pass on my huge gratitude to Sasha (1), Sasha (2) and Natalia for making our Groups’ 11 day trek extremely enjoyable. Having met Sasha (1) and (2) in 2014 when we attempted the Northern route and were turned back by bad weather on three occasions, it was extremely exciting to finally put the mountain test to rest, when we summited on Saturday morning by the Southern route! The mountain certainly provides a challenging environment, not only with the altitude, but also with the tricky terrain on summit day, requiring extreme care, attention and professionalism at all times. Sasha (1), (2) and (3) provided that in abounds and I would be grateful if you could convey my appreciation and gratitude to them all. Sasha (1) has such a wide interest in the fauna and flora of the local area, that each training trek provided much needed and interesting distractions from the air-sucking “poly-poly” routes. I also managed to view again the artistic talent of the much modest Sasha (2), when he was showing his portfolio to one of the other chefs at base camp. They are both a huge credit to the Adventure Alternative team. Best wishes Kevin

Rating for tour operator:

Just a quick note to pass on my huge gratitude to Sasha (1), Sasha (2) and Natalia for making our Groups’ 11 day trek extremely enjoyable. Having met Sasha (1) and (2) in 2014 when we attempted the Northern route and were turned back by bad weather on three occasions, it was extremely exciting to finally put the mountain test to rest, when we summited on Saturday morning by the Southern route! The mountain certainly provides a challenging environment, not only with the altitude, but also with the tricky terrain on summit day, requiring extreme care, attention and professionalism at all times. Sasha (1), (2) and (3) provided that in abounds and I would be grateful if you could convey my appreciation and gratitude to them all. Sasha (1) has such a wide interest in the fauna and flora of the local area, that each training trek provided much needed and interesting distractions from the air-sucking “poly-poly” routes. I also managed to view again the artistic talent of the much modest Sasha (2), when he was showing his portfolio to one of the other chefs at base camp. They are both a huge credit to the Adventure Alternative team. Best wishes Kevin

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 20 Jul 2017:

Thanks Kevin, we're now in our seventeenth year with Sasha as our guide in Russia and we've had an impeccable track record. I'm so happy you had a great time on Elbrus and I'll pass your message onto him!

Climb Mount Elbrus by xavairia , 16 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Mount Elbrus south route climb

Travelled to Moscow on and did a day tour and then climbed Mount Elbrus using the south route.

Travelled to Moscow on and did a day tour and then climbed Mount Elbrus using the south route.

Rating for tour operator:

Adventure Alternative was very professional and answered each inquiry promptly. The prices are very reasonable and they also offer many different dates for their tour. I had no trouble with my visa process and am very satisfied with the company.

Climb Mount Elbrus by Bill, 14 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Elbrus summit trip with Adventure Alternative!

I feel very fortunate to have been a client on a trip last week to the summit of Mt. Elbrus in Russia. Our guide, Sasha, led us on an excellent adventure. The organization, food, stories, hotel, training trips, etc., all exceeded my expectations. Despite inclement weather on the mountain, all five of us made it safely to the summit and back, under the leadership of Sasha's assistant guide. Great attention was paid to the specific needs of ...

I feel very fortunate to have been a client on a trip last week to the summit of Mt. Elbrus in Russia. Our guide, Sasha, led us on an excellent adventure. The organization, food, stories, hotel, training trips, etc., all exceeded my expectations. Despite inclement weather on the mountain, all five of us made it safely to the summit and back, under the leadership of Sasha's assistant guide. Great attention was paid to the specific needs of each individual, in terms of required equipment, training, food, guidance, and preparation, leading to our summit success. I highly recommend Adventure Alternative to all interested climbers.

Rating for tour operator:

I feel very fortunate to have been a client on a trip last week to the summit of Mt. Elbrus in Russia. Our guide, Sasha, led us on an excellent adventure. The organization, food, stories, hotel, training trips, etc., all exceeded my expectations. Despite inclement weather on the mountain, all five of us made it safely to the summit and back, under the leadership of Sasha's assistant guide. Great attention was paid to the specific needs of each individual, in terms of required equipment, training, food, guidance, and preparation, leading to our summit success. I highly recommend Adventure Alternative to all interested climbers.

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 14 Jun 2017:

Thank you Bill! We'll pass on your comments to Sasha in Russia who has now been working for Adventure Alternative since 1999!

Mount Aconcagua Climb by JCooper, 5 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Aconcagua February 2017

An attempt to the summit of Aconcagua in February 2017. 4 out of 6 made it it to the top in great conditions after 14 days or so on the mountain. Everything went without a hitch and the guide was fantastic and supportive every step of the way.

An attempt to the summit of Aconcagua in February 2017. 4 out of 6 made it it to the top in great conditions after 14 days or so on the mountain. Everything went without a hitch and the guide was fantastic and supportive every step of the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic tour operator. Everything was organised in advance and the trip went of without a hitch.

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 06 Jun 2017:

This is a big mountain trip which is difficult logistically, as well as physically and mentally for the clients. It takes a collaborative effort between the tour operator, the guides and the clients to ensure safety and success. On this trip we had all three working well together.
We have run this trip to Aconcagua every year now since 1999 with no incidents and no accidents, and with an average success rate for the summit of 75%.

Adventure Alternative by Ricky Marshall, 10 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Sanctuary – Trekking in Nepal

We arrived to Nepal on 25th March to do the Annapurna Sanctuary trek starting Monday 27th March. Found Kathmandu to be a mix of the noise of tooting cars and dust so was happy to start the trek two days later. The trek itself was slightly affected first 3-4 days by what we were told was some slightly unseasonal weather (some cloud and rain, and even a couple of massive hail showers) but was an experience I will truly never forgot. We trekked ...

We arrived to Nepal on 25th March to do the Annapurna Sanctuary trek starting Monday 27th March. Found Kathmandu to be a mix of the noise of tooting cars and dust so was happy to start the trek two days later. The trek itself was slightly affected first 3-4 days by what we were told was some slightly unseasonal weather (some cloud and rain, and even a couple of massive hail showers) but was an experience I will truly never forgot. We trekked the route clockwise (so Ulleri-Ghorepani-Chomrong-ABC-Chomrong-Jinnu) accompanied by an invaluable guide and porter. The accommodation can only be described as basic, but was largely clean and was very surprised by the quality of the food everywhere we stayed which was far higher than expected. The trek itself was tougher than I thought, I know get the irony of the t-shirts in Kathmandu saying ´Nepali flat - little but up, little bit down´ but the scenery once the clouds departed was simply stunning. The view from Chomrong hotel on a slightly misty morning was appropriately mystical. People also make trips and there honestly can be no finer race on the planet than the Nepalese. The morning we reached ABC (we had stayed MBC the night before) there was not a cloud in the sky and the views are utterly breathtaking. Jinnu springs was smaller than expected and we thankfully beat the crowd (just). All in all it was as I say, a trip that will live long and large in the memory.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked our trek with Adventure Alternative and although they were slightly more expensive than others we found they said they were so as their policy is to pay the locals in Nepal a fair rate (and that was confirmed to us by our guide). Overall could not recommend these guys more highly, felt like really ´real´ people who have a love for what they do (both on the UK side and on the Nepal side). The booking/payment process, website all great and our guide/porter really helped make the experience one that really is banked as truly unfortgetable. We also had to change flights at short notice on them which they arranged with no fuss and no extra charge. All in all 10/10

Adventure Alternative responded to this review on 10 Apr 2017:

Thank you!